skip to Main Content

Abbeyfield New Zealand

Abbeyfield New Zealand Incorporated is our national umbrella organisation, governed by a board of five elected by members. Abbeyfield houses are developed by Abbeyfield Properties,  a subsidiary of Abbeyfield New Zealand.

Meet our board

Chairman: Simon Hayes – Wakatipu
Simon was born and grew up in the outback of Australia and has lived in New Zealand since 1974. He worked in the hospitality industry until 1993, and since then he has had a successful real estate career. Simon’s commitment to the community is reflected in his long involvement with the Lions Club, two terms as a Queenstown Lakes District Councillor, and involvement with several community groups.
He has been an Abbeyfielder since 1989, and was a member of the Abbeyfield Wakatipu establishment committee and chair of that group from 2005. The Abbeyfield House in Frankton opened in 2007. Simon has been an Abbeyfield NZ board member from 2014, and became chairman in July 2016.

Simon Hayes

Simon Hayes, centre, is pictured with his wife Ngaire receiving an award in 2019 from the Queenstown Lions Club for his outstanding service to the Queenstown community. Photo: Mountain Scene.

Katrine Imrie – Palmerston North
Katrine is house manager for Abbeyfield Palmerston North. By profession she is a registered general and maternity nurse (retired). Until recently she was a director of Baywide Credit Union as well as a director of her own gift and event planning business; she is building manager of an apartment block.
Katrine holds several community and volunteer positions in Palmerston North, including chair of Neighbourhood Support, secretary of the Strive rehabilitation centre for head injury patients, and she is a Rotary club member. Katrine joined the board of Abbeyfield NZ in 2017.

Fenn Shaw – Christchurch
Chairperson – Abbeyfield Christchurch
Fenn Shaw’s professional background is in nursing, with a focus on gerontology care. Now retired, she has been actively involved in numerous community and service organisations including Rotary, and Zonta International. She founded the Abbeyfield Christchurch steering committee, and has been chair of Abbeyfield Christchurch Inc since its inception in 2008, and is also chair of Abbeyfield Wigram Inc. Fenn joined the Abbeyfield New Zealand board in 2017.

Robert Bruce – Christchurch

In 2021 Robert Bruce was co-opted on to the Abbeyfield New Zealand board which is benefitting from his extensive experience in risk management. Robert is currently a consultant and previously worked for Arrow International and Solid Energy in risk and assurance manager roles. Prior to that he worked for 35 years with the Shell Oil Group in New Zealand and the UK, in roles such as Corporate Assurance Manager and Supply Chain Improvement Executive. Robert says he agreed to join the Abbeyfield board because he is keen to share his experience.

Venus Sood Guy – Nelson
Venus owns and operates a supermarket business in Nelson with her husband and has a masters degree in law and graduate diploma in business management. She has previously lectured in law and is particularly interested in governance issues. Venus has held governance positions with a number of community organisations, including the Nelson Tasman Business Trust, Citizens Advice Bureau, and the Nelson branches of Institute of Directors and National Council of Women. She is secretary of Abbeyfield Nelson and was elected to the Abbeyfield New Zealand Board in 2018.

Susan Jenkins – Nelson
Executive Officer (non voting) Abbeyfield New Zealand Inc
Company Secretary – Abbeyfield Properties Ltd
Secretary – Abbeyfield Foundation Charitable Trust (non voting)
Susan joined Abbeyfield New Zealand as Executive Officer in February 2016.  She has a comprehensive professional background in a wide range of sectors including primary health, social and ethical investment, education and special education.

Susan has served on not-for-profit and private sector boards in New Zealand and the UK. She was born and brought up in Gore, and educated at Otago and Auckland universities.

Back To Top